Temperature of the Exhaust System Components

Post queries regarding your Mk3 Cavalier's fuel system (including ECUs) and exhaust here
Kinky John

Temperature of the Exhaust System Components

Post by Kinky John »

Hello everyone,

Done a search on here and a bit of googling but I don't seem to be able to get any figures.

For the purposes of applying paint to the exhaust system in order to increase its life expectancy and prevent corrosion for as long as possible, does anyone have a reasonable idea as to the temperature of the exhaust system along its various points?

I have cans of high temperature paint rated at different temperatures and I got to wondering can I apply the lower rated stuff at the rear silencer while saving the more expensive stuff for the front sections.

Thank you very much
Mark
Current Car: 1995 M Cavalier V6 CDX, Hatch, Automatic
Mazza

Re: Temperature of the Exhaust System Components

Post by Mazza »

I’m no exhaust expert but I think it helps the gases to flow through more efficiently. Also keeps system cooler and longer life of exhaust system - protection from rust.

Some guys I knew (with mk2 golf gti 16v) had the exhaust ceramic coated. Better gas flow and improved bhp... so they said.
Robsey
Club Admin

Post by Robsey »

If I read your question properly, you are looking at the temperature of the exhaust at various points.

The obvious answer is that the exhaust is hottest at the exhaust manifold, as that is closest to the heat of combustion. Probably about 600°C.

The exhaust will be cooled by ambient air flow under the car.

The catalytic converter is tucked in close to the body, and wrapped in heat shields away from the cooling draught, as the ceramic interior needs to be approx 273°C to allow the maximum efficient conversion of the exhaust gasses.

After this point, the exhaust is allowed to dangle a little further away from the underside of the car, as it is no longer important to keep the gasses hot.